Proeftuin ALS Digitalk

  

 

Project ‘Proeftuin ALS Digitalk” finished

The purpose of the Flanders’ Care demonstration project “Proeftuin ALS Digitalk” was to equip pALS with a communication problem, where common verbal and written communication was no longer possible, with assisting communication technology, systematically follow up its optimal use and adjust where necessary. This way, pALS have always had the most appropriate tool at their disposal, so that they could keep communicating with their environment at all times. The impact on the quality of their life was also kept into account and questioned, focussing on the prevention of social isolation. A lot of ALS patients end up in an growing isolation as the disease develops. A rapidly declining mobility, problems with speaking skills and of course a lot of discomforts that start to display during the development of the disease, often make people withdraw themselves from the society.

Even now that the project has finished, pALS can remain getting help from ALS for lending aids, including an ample line of communication tools.
 

 pALS can continuously make their needs known at:

 

Secretariaat ALS Mobility & Digitalk

phone: 016-23.95.82

e-mail: MenD@als.be

 
A good start is half the work: start using a communication tool in time.

A large number of ALS patients experience communication problems in the course of their illness due to the loss of speech and / or hand function ( writing, typing ).
They are full of vision, ideas, dreams, desire, needs,... but it becomes increasingly difficult or impossible for them to express those to their environment. Because communication is the cornerstone of independence, their lives seem likely to be totally determined by others. This may lead to resignation and social isolation.

Fortunately, the world of engineering and ICT will come to their aid. For a significant period of time tools have been developed that support communication. Common examples include tablet PC’s that have different software applications installed, text-to-speech devices (for instance Lightwriter), laser pointer controlled keypads for computer speech (such as Lucy), or its variant based on eyeball control, by which people with ALS can maintain or regain their independence. This sector of assistive technology is developing rapidly. Regularly new equipment is designed. Obviously, from our perspective of ALS Mobility & Digitalk we very much welcome this.

However, we realize that the use of communication tools is not always self-evident and that not everyone is a techie.
Sometimes you have to cross a threshold and show great commitment to become familiar with the operation and capabilities of a device. Especially in the early stage, this can be tiring.
We therefore advise ALS patients with (incipient) communication difficulties not to put off using a communication tool but to go to work as soon as possible. That way you give yourself the time necessary to really learn how to make use of a device, a pleasure for yourself and your loved ones! For more information and free lending of these tools, please contact ALS M & D, 016/23.95.82.

Share

Proeftuin ALS-Digitalk

   

Le projet « Proeftuin ALS Digitalk est finalisé.

Le projet de démonstration Flanders Care  « Proeftuin ALS Digitalk » était destiné aux pALS ayant des problèmes de communication et pour qui une communication orale et écrite normale était devenu impossible. Ce projet avait pour objectif de fournir une assistance au travers d’une technologie de communication sur mesure, avec suivi de son utilisation optimale et une correction de cette utilisation là où cela s’impose. Ainsi, les pALS disposaient d’une aide appropriée qui maintenait la communication avec leur environnement et évaluait à intervalles réguliers l’impact sur leur qualité de vie, mettant l’accent sur la prévention et l’isolement social. Nombre de patients ALS tombent progressivement dans l’isolement à mesure que la maladie progresse. Une baisse rapide de la mobilité, des problèmes de locution sans oublier de nombreux malaises qui se manifestent durant la maladie provoquent souvent un retrait de la société.

Le projet étant finalisé, les pALS peuvent en permanence s’adresser à l’ALS M&D pour le prêt d’outils y compris une large gamme des dispositifs de communication.

 

Les pALS peuvent communiquer systématiquement leurs besoins au

 

Secrétariat ALS Mobility & Digitalk

tel: 016-23.95.82

e-mail: MenD@als.be

 
Il vaut mieux entamer trop tôt que trop tard: commencez à temps à utiliser un dispositif de communication

Au cours de leur maladie, un grand nombre de pALS éprouve des difficultés au niveau de la communication en raison de la perte de leur faculté de la parole et/ou de l’utilisation de leurs mains (écrire, taper à la machine).

Ils ont plein d’opinions, des idées, des rêves, des désirs et des besoins, … mais ils l’ont de plus en plus difficile à les communiquer à leur entourage. La communication étant la base de leur indépendance, leur vie risque d’être complètement définie par d’autres personnes et ceci peut aboutir à la résignation et à l’isolement social.

Heureusement, le monde des ingénieurs et de l’ICT peut les aider. Depuis un bon bout de temps, des dispositifs de communication ont été développés. Quelques exemples connus sont les tablettes numériques sur lesquelles des logiciels d’application sont installés, les appareils de conversion de texte en parole (par exemple, le système Lightwriter), les claviers de commande à pointeur laser pour un ordinateur (à parole), par exemple le système Lucy, ou sa variante basée sur la commande oculaire, permettant aux pALS de garder ou de regagner une vie consciente. Cette branche de technologies de support est en plein développement. De nouveaux appareils sont créés régulièrement. Evidemment, ALS Mobility & Digitalk ne peut qu’applaudir cette évolution.

Toutefois, nous reconnaissons que l’emploi de dispositifs de communication n’est pas toujours évident et que tout le monde n’est pas un techno.

Il faut franchir le pas et s’investir à se familiariser avec le fonctionnement et les possibilités d’un appareil. Surtout au début, un tel procès peut être fatiguant.

Aux pALS qui subissent des difficultés de communication (commençantes) nous conseillons à ne pas reporter l’utilisation d’un dispositif d’aide mais à se mettre au travail le plus tôt possible. De cette manière, ils n’auront pas seulement le temps à apprendre à utiliser un tel appareil de façon optimale; ils feront aussi un grand plaisir à leurs proches et à eux-mêmes!

Pout toute autre information et pour prêter gratuitement un dispositif d’aide, nous vous prions de prendre contact avec ALS M&D au 016/23.95.82.

Share